top of page

Day 14 Almeirim to Lisbon

The plan was a little different today as we neared our destination.

Joe from Greenrock had spent 6 days on this part of the recce trying to find a safe way into Lisbon for up to 30 cyclists. Almost all of the roads are either too busy, too narrow or both. In the end he decided it was best to approach from the south and get on the cross river ferry at Trafaria.

We would understand why as soon as we got near the city.

Joe wanted us on the 1st crossing after the siesta which meant we all had to be at the ferry terminal before 15.30h. The sail time was only 20 mins or so but after that we still had to cycle 8 Km to the hotel and get ready for the party in town at 19.00h.

We were up and the vans loaded by 06.00h, a makeshift breakfast was available in the hotel car park but no coffee. Fortunately the petrol station across the road was open and coffee was found. I can't function that early without coffee!

When I got back to the departure point most of the guys were already on the road. It was nice and cool so early in the morning and the roads were still quiet so I decided to see if I could catch them. The first stop was at 32 Km and I would use that for my breakfast. It was there I met the fast group of Michael, Allan, Patricia, Paul & Steven. I was feeling good and we were still on quiet roads so I decided to join them for some fast group riding. We made the "lunch" stop at 87 Km before 11.00h and got Jill to take a team photo.

We had been well warned from our support guys that the approach roads around Lisbon were full of big lorries overtaking each other and often too close to cyclists. The Portuguese drivers seem to like going fast and are not as tolerant of cyclists as they could be.

I needed another coffee and a comfort stop so I told the guys that would cycle the rest of the way on my own. I was also planning to ride tight to the edge of the road and make myself as easy to pass as possible.

As the traffic got busier I could see Lisbon off to my right through the heat haze.

It wasn't long before I arrived at the ferry terminal in Trafaria where there were a queue of my new mates lining up to buy me my fist proper beer for almost 4 weeks. I had decided that a tee total approach to the trip and the last 2 weeks of training was the way to go and despite huge temptation I managed to see it through. It definitely helped me physically to get through the cycle but it was done now and I wanted a beer.

The honour of buying it went to my room mate Steven .................. Cheers!

Everyone was so hyped that we arrived early enough to catch the last ferry before the siesta at 13.00h. This was a real bonus as many people had friends and family waiting at the hotel. Although it meant we would miss the STV cameras it would give us lots more time to get organised and ready for the big party that had been organised in the city. CQN organised a big bash at a very nice venue for around 300 Celtic fans and we were invited to join them. We didn't want to be late. We were "in the heat of Lisbon" at last!

We did the huddle on the boat much to the amusement of the locals. Everyone was so relieved that we had actually done it. I was constantly smiling to myself as I gazed around and tried to take it all in.

The Vasco Da Gama bridge towered over us carefully watched by the Christ the King statue from his hilltop vantage point.

Although I was here and was feeling quite emotional the job is not done yet. There is still the matter of cycling 8 Km to the hotel and of course tomorrow. Thursday 25th May is when the journey ends. We left Celtic Park on Thursday 11th May to arrive in the Estadio Nacional, Lisboa on the 50th anniversary of the Lisbon Lions winning the European Cup. Tomorrow I thought .............. that will be one special day.

I got to my hotel room on the 5th floor and couldn't believe my eyes, this is the view I have ............. only 2.5 Km to go :-)

Distance covered 141.3 Km

Climbing 1,093 M

Moving time 05:37:49

You can see a graphic reconstruction of the route here https://www.relive.cc/view/1003373706

Summary:

Long day with some tricky cycling on busy roads but the excitement of it all made it easy. Really looking forward to the stadium tomorrow.

Difficulty rating 5/10


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page