top of page

Day 10 Villalpando to Ledesma

Up at 06.30h and the same routine;

1st - Pee

2nd - Sodium bicarbonate

3rd - Coffee

4th - Check the weather again and set out the clothes for the day

5th - Pack everything else and chuck it in the support van

Then it's breakfast, route briefing, photo & cycle .................

It seems like that's all I do now, I am on auto pilot and all I do is cycle or prepare to cycle. I was talking to Joe (the boss) from Greenrock and he understood how I felt. He has done similar things in the past and he knows how it takes over.

Today was Day 10 and I couldn't decide if it had flown by or dragged on. I have a life but I haven't been thinking like Peter the Golf Pro or Peter the father to 3 kids (Keri 25, Niki 23 & PJ 21).

I informed Joe that I needed some time on my own and not to worry about me today. I am well used to cycling alone and hoped it would give me a chance to remember who I really am. I took off immediately and decided to proceed at whatever pace Grace was happy with. Also I wasn't sure how the 9 day old legs would perform. The route was reasonably flat and only 131 km today. I know that's a lot but in the overall scheme of things that is a pretty easy day for me, or should be?

Grace was devouring the tarmac in front of her from the off. The inclines were long and gentle and I could always see the top of them as invariably there was a church there "Nearer my God to Thee" and all that.

Suddenly a group flew past us, they were really motoring. Groups travel faster than individuals when cycling because of the energy saved riding in a Peloton. A look at my Garmin told me that we were only 11 Km in at that point. I thought about latching on to the back of them like yesterday but Grace reminded me that I needed some alone time so I let them go. Before long they were out of sight and I forgot all about them, well almost.

The itinerary today was a stop for refreshments at 46 Km then lunch at 68 Km. Nothing was planned after that so it would be a long run into Ledesma after lunch. As we approached the 1st stop I decided that it wasn't necessary and a further 22 Km to lunch was easily achievable so I grabbed a photo as Grace & I sped past them.

I arrived at lunch before the fast guys, it was only 11.15h and too early to eat really. As Grace grazed by the the side of a river I devoured 1/2 of a tuna & sweetcorn baguette. The others came rolling in very close behind us. From left to right they are; Shane, Michael, Patricia, Gaubi & Ruairi.

I asked them to pass me when they caught me again as I was just plodding along at my own pace and set off again planning a coffee stop around 100 Km at some farming village in the Spanish countryside.

I had taken off the wind stopper that was necessary in the cold morning air and immediately felt the benefit of being more aerodynamically dressed. I picked up speed and started to wonder how long it would be before they caught me? I set a target of 100 Km, if I was still out front by then I would be happy. As soon as they passed me I would take my little break.

104 Km and no sign of them? Only 27 Km to the hotel and I started to think what if?..... Could I? ..... Let's go for it?

I knew the young Irish guys would be after me but I didn't know at the time that the group had broken up on the hills as they tried to chase me down.

I was flying on Grace, it dawned on me that I am fitter, stronger & lighter than I have ever been and as the distance goes up I seem to get stronger. The hammer was well and truly down as I went for glory. Whether someone caught me or not this would be the fastest solo ride I had ever done.

They couldn't catch me as Grace responded to every kick and I rolled into Ledesma out in front and claimed the stage victory.

Tomorrow we will cross the border into Portugal. only 4 long rides to go ..............

Distance covered 131.2 Km

Climbing 917 M

Moving time 04:36:38

You can see a graphic reconstruction of the route here https://www.relive.cc/view/997045964

Summary:

Without any headwind I produced the fastest solo ride I've ever done averaging 28.5 Km/h, I'm getting the hang of this cycling lark.

Difficulty rating 5/10


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page