top of page

Day 13 Proenca-a-Nova to Almeirim

I had a bit of a restless night, it was warm and I needed to blast my nose a couple of times to breathe easier but at least I avoided taking any more Frenadol. I was up earlier than usual but breakfast wasn't until 08.00h. A couple of our guys were in the pool for an early morning swim but that's not my thing. I took advantage by doing some proper stretching exercises.

There was a very sombre mood at breakfast, news was being passed around the group about the terrorist attack in Manchester. What we are doing seemed so unimportant. It was decided that we would have a minutes silence before the ride today, our deepest condolences to everyone affected.

Breakfast was nice, finally some proper food choices. Fresh fruit salad followed by some All Bran and then a mini bacon roll.

Then it was outside and on a happier note we sang Happy Birthday to Nils (the 10 year old son of Gaubi) who is missing his Dad on this special day.

The video was apparently very well received and the tears were flowing in Holland.

After the minutes silence we set off in what was already 23°C, I was curious to see how my comrades would handle the heat?

Straight into some climbing and the field was stringing out, I wasn't sure how I would be today but I was happy to start in the fast group at the front with, Allan, Michael, Zander, David, Paul, Robert, Gaubi & Patricia. Another group were close behind and caught us at the 1st stop today 43 Km in.

You can see from the picture how glorious the weather was today. Scorching hot but glorious and the scenery was spectacular through the Natural Park of Serra da Estrela. I was feeling good and keeping up the pace no problem, the Manflu had been beaten and I had my wings back.

Sean the bike mechanic had his way with Grace and she was on top form running silent and true.

Suddenly I heard the shout "STOPPING" .................. we had to photograph this :-)

Gaubi & Patricia had stopped for an ice cream as the temperature soared to the mid 30's. Some guys reported that their Garmins were reading as high as 40°C at times. Those two are missing from the photo but it gave them a chance to catch us again. The road sign served to motivate us and we stormed through the heat to the lunch stop. Occasionally the front runner would bomb ahead and try to take a nice photo as we passed, Michael snapped this one of me just before lunch.

We were very fortunate to have Zander in the group and as we crossed a river the view was so good we all stopped immediately for photos.

After lunch the heat became unbearable for most of the guys and our group got a little smaller. We decided to add our own afternoon stop at around 110 Km to stock up with cold drinks and try to cool down a little. Allan was so happy that he wouldn't be the oldest guy in this photo :-)

I asked the old man to watch Grace for me while I sat and drank with the group. Allan refused but this local guy said he would watch her!

The run for home was only another 23 Km which was less than an hour for us at the rate we were moving. We had left the hills behind and the flat country roads with nice surfaces were perfect for cycling. I was feeling great and I'm well used to the heat, it was just like I had trained for.

Also, after a couple of days not feeling good and riding on my own I was really enjoying the group riding.

The heat and the long hours were taking their toll and I noticed we were only 3 now. With around 2 Km to go I suggested we cross the line together rather than try to out sprint each other for a "stage" victory. Michael & Allan were happy to agree and so the over 50's club arrived at the hotel 3 abreast. I hope Joe from Greenrock didn't see us riding 3 wide ;-)

It's almost done now, last day tomorrow will see us arrive in Lisbon. We have a cross river ferry to catch to make sure we get to the party on time so it's bags in the van for 06.00h and cycling at 06.30h. Breakfast will be an energy bar on the move methinks.

Right now it's almost 22.30h and as I post this I will finish my last 0% beer.

24 dry days in a row is enough, I will be having a proper beer as soon as I arrive in Lisboa ........ Boa noite!

Distance covered 136.6 Km

Climbing 1,288 M

Moving time 05:26:50

You can see a graphic reconstruction of the route here https://www.relive.cc/view/1002155715

Summary:

Easiest day so far for me, terrain and weather that I thrive on. I could have kept going all day.

Difficulty rating 3/10


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page